Formally known as the Crown Inn, the original building used to be attached to six cottages known as West Terrace. The inn was renamed when the cottages were demolished and the building extended with bedrooms to become the Dolphin Inn.
Parts of the village, then known as Aldringham-cum-Thorpe, date back to Tudor times, but in 1910 the village was renamed Thorpeness when landowner, Stuart Ogilvie, began realising his plan to create a unique seaside holiday village on the site.
The Dolphin Inn was consumed by fire in September 1995 and was rebuilt and re-opened in 1998.
David took over the running of The Dolphin in 2007 and together with his lovely daughter Kerry, immediately made an impact, ensuring The Dolphin became an important part of the community. With the arrival of Chris as Head Chef and the addition of the Village Store, his goal, based on friendly service, good food using local producers and an extensive choice of beverages is now being realised.